Salford and Macclesfield Hundreds

The Lancashire parts of Tameside traditionally came under the SALFORD HUNDRED. The following extract is from Aiken's "Forty Miles around Manchester" published in 1795.

"Lancashire sends 14 members to parliament, provides 800 men to the national militia, and pays only five parts out of the 513 of the land-tax of England.

The county is divided into six Hundreds, viz. those of Salford, West Derby, Leyland, Blackburne, Amounderness, and Lonsdale.

The following townships make up the Salford Hundred*:

Salford Hundred*
SalfordPendletonAshtonBolton with hamletsCheetham
Heaton NorrisFlixtonSpotlandChaddertonEdworth with hamlets
Chorlton RowPrestwichButterworthTurton with Longworth
* Pays 14 hundredths of the county rates; raises 293 militia men

Click here to find out more about the townships that made up the Salford Hundred

The Cheshire parts of Tameside were contained within the Macclesfield Hundred:

Henbury cum PexallBromhallTaxallKettleshulmeCheadle
Disley and StandleyYeardley cum WhaleyMottram AndrewEtchelsAdlington
PoyntonGodleyAlderley SuperiorPownall FeeHyde
Alderley InferiorPrestburyHattersleyBirtlesPott Shrigley
HollinworthBollin FeeRainowMarpleBollington
North RodeMatleyBosleySnelsonMottram in Longdendale
Butley cum NewtonSutton Downes cum WincleNorburyChelford cum Old WithingtonSiddington
NorthendenSomerford BoothNewtonChorleyTytherington
Warford MagnaStayleyGawforthWithington Inferior

Home | Contents | Local Links | Useful Addresses | Family History Links | Forum | Contact
© Copyright:all rights reserved: G J Oliver 2008
Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape